Dear Best Friend

Dear best friend,

I’ve never met anyone as consistent as you.

When I first met you, I couldn’t imagine us ever being friends; you were older and that was enough for me to cross out all possibilities of us ever being friends. But we talked…

We were forced into a room together…well we both chose to be in there…

And at that moment I knew this could work.

I thought it would be temporary, like a temporary relief a scratch provides to an itch, but that small time we shared in that room was not enough to satisfy me.

We talked outside of that room and it was then that I realized we could be friends if we really wanted to.

You got my number somehow, and I was utterly afraid…that you’d get to know me and this whole thing would be a waste.

My hopes were high, not for me, but for everyone else; we were inseparable and they knew it, I knew it, and so did you.

But reality hit, you weren’t my age and when the school year ended, we went our separate ways.

I was truly hurt, and I prayed you were too. I didn’t want you to replace me, but there was nothing I could do.

Now time goes on, and you still have my number. I know much about you, your feelings, and your darkest desires. I’ve seen you a few times since we were pulled apart, but I miss the inseparability we shared; now we seem distant, it’s hard.

Why you still talk to me, I have no clue. Why I still mean something, anything to you…

I’m amazed of your love, your loyalty, and care.

I admire your hopes to reunite once more. Please never doubt that I feel just the same, that I miss you, that I suffer your absence everyday.

When the going gets tough, I wish you were nearer; life could be clearer.

You’re not here now, but you’re a phone call away. I’m not there now, but anticipate my embrace.

We’ve tried to understand what’s going on here and we’ve established our love is a love of friends.

This love sometimes is stronger than a real relationship, so I’m happy we’ve decided that our friendship… Is it.

No more than a kiss on the cheek or a slap on the back. It doesn’t matter what you are, you’ve been loyal and that’s that.

I miss you dearly, and this note is rather long. But Best Friend I love you dearly. This distant seems to prolong.

You have no clue of what I write for you as you text me from my phone, but my computer burns with rage and my fingers cold from frost. The weather shouts for hugs, for coffee and  loud for warm embrace. We both will share the winter’s wrath soon…one day.

-your friend,

Niah

(Image used in this post is mine. Please request it’s use)

This post was obviously directed towards one person, but I posted it because it has a sentimental meaning that I wanted my viewers to share with me in this moment. I hope you could still relate to this is some way, shape, or form. Thank you for reading.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. vishal4u says:

    Just hoping that you conveyed what you felt to your best friend. Glad you have someone so special in your life.

    Like

  2. I think there are no words to capture my gratitude, but my attempt seemed thoughtful enough, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

